European Tort Law 2007H. Koziol/B.C. Steininger (eds.)
European Tort Law 2007

Tort and Insurance Law, Yearbook
Vienna/New York: Springer 2008
661 p. ISBN 978-3-211-77991-0

[Buy online]

The European Tort Law Yearbook provides a comprehensive overview of the latest developments in tort law in Europe. It contains reports on most EU Member States, including the new Member States the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Bulgaria and Romania. Furthermore, the Yearbook provides contributions from Norway and Switzerland as well as an overview of the developments in the field of EU law. In conclusion, a comparative summary reviews the essential aspects of all reports, which are written by scholars from the respective jurisdictions. Focusing on the year 2007, the authors critically report on important court decisions, present new legislation and provide a literature overview. In addition to the national reports, the European Tort Law 2007 Yearbook contains the opening lecture of the 7th Annual Conference on European Tort Law examining “The Development of Tort Law” as well as four essays on questions of prescription.

Contents and Contributors

Opening Lecture:
John Bell: The Development of Tort Law

R. Zimmermann/J. Kleinschmidt: Prescription: General Framework and Special Problems Concerning Damages Claims
F. Fusco: Commencement of the Prescription Period in Case of Damage Caused due to Omissions
B. Askeland: Plurality of Liable Persons and Prescription of Recourse Actions
I. Gilead: Economic Analysis of Prescription in Tort Law

Country Reports
B.C. Steininger: Austria
I.C. Durant: Belgium
C. Takoff: Bulgaria
J. Hrádek: Czech Republic
V. Ulfbeck/S. Bergenser: Denmark
K. Oliphant: England and Wales
J. Lahe/I. Kull: Estonia
S. Hakalehto-Wainio: Finland
O. Moréteau: France
J. Fedtke: Germany
E. Dacoronia: Greece
A. Menyhárd: Hungary
E. Quill: Ireland
E. Navarretta/E. Bargelli: Italy
A. Bitãns: Latvia
H. Gabartas/G. Bzozeckaite: Lithuania
M. Faure/T. Hartlief: The Netherlands
B. Askeland: Norway
E. Baginska: Poland
A. G. Dias Pereira: Portugal
C. Alunaru/L. Bojin: Romania
A. Dulak: Slovakia
R. Lampe: Slovenia
J. Ribot/A. Ruda: Spain
H. Andersson: Sweden
P. Loser: Switzerland
B. A. Koch: European Union
K. Oliphant: Comparative Overview